Blocking the Dewey Sweater

24 Mar

One of my favorite knitting books is Vintage Baby Knits by Kristen Rengren.

I have serious intentions of knitting every single pattern in the book before I die. It is that great.

Anyways, in late February, I cast on the Dewey Cabled Pullover in Touch Yarns 4 Ply Merino. This yarn is so special, I have had it since 2005 and have been waiting for just the right project for it. My parents went to New Zealand that year and brought me back this yarn. I loved this yarn so much I couldn’t bear to knit anything with it because then I wouldn’t have any of it left. (I know how insane this sounds to a non-knitter.) Well, the Dewey sweater is worthy of my special yarn, and I finished knitting it a couple of days ago. Of course, the weather has been in the seventies for the last week, so my baby will probably only get to wear it for a few days. Hooray for gender-neutral navy! I can hand it down to boys and girls!

I blocked the sweater two nights ago, and now I’m sewing it together. Here’s the sweater and sleeves pinned out on my blocking board:

You are probably wondering about my special blocking board. I made it back in 2005 or 2006 using this tutorial from Knitty, an online knitting magazine. It is a wonderful blocking board, and works amazingly well because it wicks up moisture into the board as well as letting it evaporate. The only downside is that it is a little unwieldy (it’s 9 square feet), but I store it in the back of a closet, and that works out fine.

Leave a Reply

