Cake For A Few

3 Apr

The enormous success of five minute chocolate mug cake is more due to the joy of having warm cake in five minutes, rather than the overwhelming deliciousness of microwave cake. It’s good, but it’s not that good. And also, it’s really high in fat and calories – higher than regular cake. My gluten-free version of mug cake costs 30 Weight Watchers Points Plus – nearly my whole day’s allotment. Regular cake with icing – 14 Points Plus.

So I’ll just make a regular cake. But the problem with regular cake is that you end up with sixteen servings of cake. This might not seem like a problem, but when it comes to cake, I am weak. Very, very weak.

My solution to the dilemma of wanting cake, but not 30 points worth of cake, and not 16 servings of cake, is to make little cakes. But not cupcakes, because those things are fiddly and more work than regular cake and always end up smooshed looking and they are hard to eat. Maybe it’s just me, but I can’t eat a cupcake without getting frosting on my face.

So I made a regular sized batch of cake batter and baked it in bread loaf pans! It’s half the size of a regular cake! And cake bricks are easy to stack in the freezer! I think this is why the frozen cakes are squares and rectangles, by the way. Here’s some pictures:

Cake in the bread pans, about to go in the oven.

Once the cake was out of the oven and had cooled on the rack for a while, I put both little cakes in the fridge to continue cooling while I made the frosting.

Cake after it's cooled in the fridge for a bit.

Cake like this is supposed to have layers. So I very gently cut the cake into two layers with a serrated bread knife. This was a little tricky, because the cake is fragile and likes to break. But it ended up okay.

Cake that's cut in half and ready to be frosted.

And then I frosted the cake, and I was half done, because there was a second cake to frost. For the second cake, I put it on parchment paper (before I started frosting it), because I was going to freeze this cake for later.

Frosted cake on parchment, ready to go in the freezer.

After freezing the cake overnight, I folded up the paper around the cake and taped it, and then put the whole package in a freezer bag.

Cake that is now ready to be stacked in the freezer.

Hooray! A cake that is only eight servings, and another one for later! I haven’t had coconut cake for years (part of being gluten-free), and this one was pretty fantastic. I used the coconut cake recipe in Gluten-Free Baking Classics, which is my hands-down favorite gluten-free baking cookbook.

Leave a Reply

